Apple Devices bug and fix - Is your conversation being heard secretly?







A newly discovered privacy bug in Apple's FaceTime software allows users to hear and see the person they are calling, without the recipient even picking up.
The glitch impacts iPhones and iPads running iOS 12.1, and Apple PCs running macOS with the newly added Group FaceTime feature.

 Here’s how it goes: you begin calling somebody via FaceTime Video from within the Phone app. Before that person picks up, you can swipe up to add your own phone number to the call. Once you’ve added yourself, FaceTime immediately seems to assume it’s an active conference call and begins sending the audio of the person you’re calling, even though they haven’t yet picked up.


A newly discovered privacy bug in Apple's FaceTime software allows users to hear and see the person they are calling, without the recipient even picking up!
The glitch impacts iPhones and iPads running iOS 12.1, and Apple PCs running macOS Mojave with the newly added Group FaceTime feature.



 Here’s how it goes: you begin calling somebody via FaceTime Video from within the Phone app. Before that person picks up, you can swipe up to add your own phone number to the call. Once you’ve added yourself, FaceTime immediately seems to assume it’s an active conference call and begins sending the audio of the person you’re calling, even though they haven’t yet picked up.

What’s more, if one of these “fake” conference calls is happening, if the recipient hits the power or volume button to ignore the call, it not only broadcasts audio to your phone but video as well.In other words, if you see your iPhone ringing with a FaceTime video call, it’s possible that the person calling you could listen to your microphone before you’ve picked up. The bug requires you have an OS that supports Group Face Time to work, of course.
When the bug is activated, the person who initiated the call is able to hear the live audio on the other person's phone, but the screen gives no indication that their conversation is being transmitted. In some cases, the bug can also show live video of the other person if they press a volume button to dismiss the call.
Apple confirmed it started disabling the Group FaceTime feature for all users, but the issue may still impact one-on-one FaceTime calls. Until the company rolls out a fix later this week,

Here's how to disable FaceTime on your Apple devices:

For IPhones



1. Open Settings on your iPhone or iPad
2. Scroll down and select FaceTime
3. Toggle off the green button at the top of the screen.

For MAC



To turn it off on a Mac, follow these steps:
1. Open the FaceTime app
2. Go to FaceTime on top of the screen
3. Select "Turn FaceTime Off."

Be Safe!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Two Whatsapp account in one Phone? - how is this possible!!

Worlds First – Artificial Intelligent News Reporter unveiled